Expectations · Marriage

Love Languages

Screen shot 2013-02-12 at 11.53.57 AM

Happy Valentines Day!

For me, Valentines Day is another day to celebrate and give gifts to my husband! Woohoo!

My love language is ‘giving’ and I can’t tell you how much joy and delight I get from selecting or creating a gift for him (or for anyone else on any other holiday for that matter).   I’m not kidding: I spend at least half our budget (ok maybe that is a bit extreme) on mailing packages to friends near and far.  Giving gifts is definitely the way I give love. And it’s the way I feel loved as well.

This took some time for my husband to figure out.  Our first Valentine’s Day rolled around, and I think he might have gotten me a box of chocolates, but not much more.  I, on the other hand, had made him some ridiculously intricate, hand-made something, bought him a new shirt (charity shop find of course), and cooked him his favorite meal.  It was then and there that we realized, “Hey, wait a second, I think we give and receive love differently.”

Light bulb.  Have you heard of the New York times best-selling book called The Five Love Languages?  We took the Five Love Languages test found here (wife) and here (husband), and we’ve been so much better in tune with each other’s love language ever since. It’s simple but incredibly profound.  (Here is the site with more information.)

The languages broken down are:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Acts of Service
  • Gifts
  • Physical Touch

Taking the test and talking it through with each other might be a fun way to spend your V-day!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s